Books in 2017 (Day 20!)

Books in 2017 (Day 20!)

I love my little library and I have no many books that I haven’t actually read yet – I’m addicted to buying books so even though I know I have un-read books, I still buy more. So I’ve decided to pick out some of my collection that I will definitely be reading in 2017!

blogmas

I have picked out 5 books but I’ll be reading more than that in 2017!

Not Quite Nice – Celia Imrie 

This is one of two books that I picked out in Tesco Extra before my driving test to calm myself down a bit. I promised myself that if I passed my test, I could buy myself two books – well I remained calm and passed myself, so two books were purchased!

I think I was mainly attracted to this book because the author is Celia Imrie but I am looking forward to delving into the story!

img_2632

“Theresa is desperate for a change. Forced into early retirement, tired of babysitting her bossy daughter’s obnoxious children, she sells her house and moves to a picture-perfect town, just outside Nice.”

The Cake Shop in the Garden – Carole Matthews 

I seem to be drawn to books that are set around cafe’s or based on food..

This was the second book that I bought on the day of my driving test and the title drew me to it. I also have some Carole Matthews books already (both unread mind, so they’re also two that I must read in 2017)

img_2631

“Fay Merryweather runs her cake shop from her beautiful garden. She whips up airy sponges and scrumptious scones, while her customers enjoy the lovely blossoms and gorgeous blooms. Looking after the cake shop, the garden and her cantankerous mother means Fay is always busy but she accepts her responsibilities because if she doesn’t do all this, who will? Then Danny Wilde walks into her life and makes Fay question every decision she’s ever made.

Call The Midwife – Jennifer Worth

I love the BBC series Call The Midwife which is the real-life story of 1950’s midwife Jenny Lee so I have been wanting to read the book for ages. I actually found my copy on the floor by the books in a charity shop and seeing as it only cost £1.00, I couldn’t leave it!

img_2629

“Attached to an order of nuns who had been working in the slums since the 1870s, Jennifer tells the story not only of the women she treated, but also of the community of nuns (including one who was accused of stealing jewels from Hatton Garden) and the camaraderie of the midwives with whom she trained. Funny, disturbing and incredibly moving, Jennifer’s stories bring to life the colourful world of the East End in the 1950s.”

The Marble Collector – Cecelia Ahern

Cecelia Ahern is one of my favourite authors. Her books P.s. I Love You and Love Rosie (previously known as Where Rainbows End) have been turned into successful screenplays. I have quite the collection of Cecelia Ahern novels and I can’t wait to dig into this one.

img_2628

“The Marble Collector is a thought-provoking novel about how the most ordinary decisions we make can have the most extraordinary consequences for how we live our lives. And how sometimes it’s only by shining on a light on someone else, that you can truly understand yourself.”

To the Moon and Back – Jill Mansell

Again, just like Cecelia Ahern, I love to read Mansell’s stories. This was a very recent purchase even after I had told myself that I wasn’t going to buy anymore books – woops.

img_2630

“When Ellie Kendall tragically loses her husband she feels her life is over. But eventually she’s ready for a new start – at work, that is. She doesn’t need a new man when she has a certain secret visitor to keep her company…

Moving to North London, Ellie meets neighbour Roo who has a secret of her own. Can the girls sort out their lives? Guilt is a powerful emotion, but a lot can happen in a year in Primrose Hill…”

Leave a Reply

