Top 5 Christmas songs to sing (Day three!)

Top 5 Christmas songs to sing (Day three!)

Here is the second part of yesterday’s post! I am part of the RAOST singers and have been a member for the past 10 years (I started with the youth choir and then grew up!) So each year, I have been singing Christmas songs from September, right up to Christmas Eve! 

blogmas

Number One:

Walking in the Air – Aled Jones.

I love this song so much as The Snowman holds a special place in my heart. This is one of my favourite songs to sing because I love it! The harmonies are great, so yeah, it’s great. There is also something so magical about this song!

Number Two:

Silent Night – Arranged by my friend, Aaron Barker.

There is no video for this one as it is the version that was arranged by a very talented friend of mine. I know I keep saying I love these songs that I’ve chosen, but seriously, this is a version of a well known Christmas song that I really love. The harmony is great and as you all know, I love a good harmony. Such a beautiful  version!

Number Three:

Candlelight Rutter – John Rutter

We sang this in the youth choir and I personally think this is one of the most beautiful pieces to both sing and listen to. I love Christmas Rutter and have a CD which was passed down to me with lots of classic Rutter on it. Another Rutter that I love to sing at this time of year is Christmas Lullaby.

Number Four:

Bethlehem – Martin Guerre

This is one of my favourite songs to sing with the choir at Christmas. I get a good opportunity to belt and the harmony is pretty. This song also reminds me of my first song and dance show with RAOST, as a 10 year old me struggled to get off stage as the adults walked on stage to sing this song.

Number Five:

Oh Holy Night – performed by many wonderful artists over the years! (For the purpose of the video, I chose Josh Groban because he sings it so well)

This song is simple which means that, depending on the arrangement, it can be really powerful without being overbearing. I’ve only had the chance to sing this a couple of times and I would love to sing it again.

So there you have it! My top 5 Christmas songs to sing! I will be back tomorrow with another post, so I hope to have you back looking at my next post!

Leave a Reply

