‘Blog’mas! (Day one!)

‘Blog’mas! (Day one!)

So my friend Alannah over at The Little Things blog has decided to do ‘Blog’mas, which is essentially a post a day over the Christmas period on the countdown to Christmas Day. I have decided to follow suit! Being a theatre blogger, I will attempt to make each post as theatrical as possible, which may not be easy, but will be something different for this blog!

blogmas

So, here is the first post of ‘Blog’mas, The Christmas Tag!

1. What is your favourite Christmas movie/movies?

I started my morning by watching Nativity! whilst decorating my bedroom, so that definitely has to be on the list. I love the story and I love the songs – I can’t tell you how excited I am that they are turning the film into a musical! Another favourite is The Snowman. I watch it every year and can picture each part of the film when listening to Walking in the Air – yes, I am that sad. There are more that I love a lot, but I think it would take an entire blog post to explain which ones and why.

2. Do you open presents on Christmas Eve or Christmas morning? 

As Alannah said in her post, who opens all of their presents on Christmas Eve?

I know Christmas isn’t all about the presents but I love opening them on Christmas morning with my family. My sister and I always end up giving our parents one present each from each of us (so they get two each) on Christmas Eve and have done for the last few years purely because we’re too excited to see their reactions, but opening presents on Christmas morning is all part of the fun of the day. So yeah, Christmas morning.

3. Do you have a favourite Christmas memory?

It’s really hard to think of something for this and I’m not sure why. Of course, I loved the year that my sister and I were given the guinea pigs, but I think last Christmas holds some great memories.

Ellie and I were helping my Dad with some odd jobs and whilst outside waiting to find out what was going on, we decided to take some selfies, which resulted in some really cracking photos. Here they are:

4. Do you stay in your PJ’s on Christmas Day or dress up?

I don’t do either. I like to stay as comfy and casual as possible. I love to wear one of my many red Christmas jumpers and a pair of jeans. The main aim is to feel as comfy as I can with some loose-ish trousers so I can stuff my face.

5. If you could only buy one person a present this year, who would it be?

This is difficult. I would say my Dad because he works so hard all year round, but he has a December birthday. So I would have to say, my dog Sam because he is adorable and I would treat him with so much if I didn’t decide to buy presents for my family.

6. Have you ever built a gingerbread house?

No. And I can guarantee that it would be a complete and utter failure!

7. Favourite Festive Food?

Bread. Sauce. Is. The. Best.

I don’t even know why I love it so much, but the year we forgot to get/make some was a total travesty. The mixture of the sauce with turkey and gravy is just the best.

8. Favourite Christmas gift?

As I said before, I know Christmas isn’t all about the presents. However, the year my Uncle Dave passed away my sister and I received a wonderful gift from him that he prepared for us before he passed. Now a treasured gift, we both received our own Steiff teddy bear, a classic teddy that I love!

9. Candy cane or gingerbread man?

Well I love both, but I could easily go through a box of candy canes so, candy cane.

10. Favourite Christmas scent?

I love the smell of cinnamon and spices at Christmas. I also love the smell of fresh Christmas trees (There’s a candle that smells like Christmas trees at work and welled up when I opened the lid and the scent was released – it’s that bad..) It just sums up Christmas for me.

However, my absolute favourite scent that appears at Christmas, is the smell of my Dad’s homemade stuffing. It is the best.

11. Do you have any Christmas Eve traditions?

  • Singing outside of the Miners Arms pub in Redruth is something that I have done for the past 10 years with only a couple of years within that time I haven’t been able to attend.
  • Nibbles for dinner, just like Alannah. I feel like this is our way of preparing ourselves for the amount of food we’re about to indulge in the next day.

12. What tops your Christmas tree?

Both a star and an angel. We also have tree decorations with both a picture of my Uncle Dave and our beloved dog Sparkle, which both are placed around the top of the tree.

13. As a kid what was one crazy gift you always wanted but never received? 

Alannah, you are not the only one who would circle stuff in the Argos catalogue. Every year I would circle jewellery I would never get, mobile phones that I would never get and other random crap, that guess what, I would never get!

14. What’s the best part of Christmas for you?

I love most things about Christmas. Food, family, gifts, films and music! (I love how I’ve put food before family..)

I love Christmas films and music. The classics. More modern. I love it all!

I also love Christmas concerts and feeling extremely festive! This year I am looking forward to watching Playrite Theatre’s The Spirit of Christmas! This is such a great way to get into the festive mood so if you want to feel ready for the season of goodwill, I will place a link for the event below.

15. Any Christmas wishes?

Just to stay happy and healthy!

 

I can’t believe how much I have written! I will be posting tomorrow too so look out for that post. Happy December everyone!

 

A link to the Playrite event: https://www.facebook.com/events/1213460868728245/

One thought on “‘Blog’mas! (Day one!)

Leave a Reply

