Chitty Chitty Bang Bang – A Review!

Chitty Chitty Bang Bang – A Review!

When I found out that Chitty was coming to Plymouth I couldn’t have been happier. When I found out the cast, I was ecstatic! Because of how much I enjoyed it, I thought I would write a review about the show! (I know I saw it two weeks ago, sssh)

There were several things that made me want to go and see the production in Plymouth, so will name just a few:

  1. The show itself. My parents took my sister and I to see the original production of the show making me around 5/6. In the original production, the child-catcher had his own song which, let’s be honest, was rather scary for my younger self. I absolutely hated the show the first time around purely because the child-catcher scared me a lot, so it was nice to go back to the show as an adult. (Thankfully, the song wasn’t in the touring production – he was still rather creepy to my 19-year-old self.
  2. CARRIE HOPE FLETCHER! I love Carrie. I think she’s brilliant and I follow her YouTube channel itswaypastmybedtime, so have been seeing some parts of Chitty from behind the scenes. I thought her portrayal of Truly Scrumptious was bubbly and fresh, I just loved her performance!
  3. A chance for a trip to the theatre! Living in Cornwall, there is a lot of amateur theatre which is great but there aren’t always many opportunities to go and see a professional company. It was a lovely day out with my mum even though it was only a quick trip as I had to be back in Redruth for choir at 7:30.


I saw the touring production on Wednesday 15th June. We saw the matinee performance which was the first performance at the theatre royal in Plymouth. Walking into the auditorium to see an open stage was quite exciting as it gave me the chance to analyse the set before the show started.

One of my favourite things about the set was the use of projection. With it being a touring production, minimal set is required so the projection was really effective in creating the set. Of course, I loved seeing the car for the first time. The inner child in me was very excited for the moment where the car was revealed for the first time. Of course, there a few technical difficulties on stage, but if I wasn’t so interested in the set, I wouldn’t have even noticed.


I loved all of the costumes in this production, with my favourites being in the song ‘Toot Sweets’. The most beautiful costumes, with the staff at the factory wearing the colour combination of purple and white. This song was a definite costume highlight for me! Each character had the most wonderful costumes and visually, the show was brilliant.

Overall, I really enjoyed the production and what I liked was how I could go back as an adult to watch something I know I hated as a child. (Was also pretty cool that I was tweeted by Lee Mead)

Leave a Reply

