A Midsummer Night’s Dream – A Review

A Midsummer Night’s Dream – A Review

A Midsummer Night’s Dream is one of Shakespeare’s most popular plays. It also happens to be my favourite, so when I knew the production was in Cornwall as part of a 12 region tour, I knew I had to get tickets. This production is particularly exciting at it features members of different amateur theatre companies, to play the parts of ‘The Mechanicals’. I went to see the play on the 10th May, 2016 at The Hall for Cornwall in Truro.

I was extremely excited because I was seeing my favourite play live for the first time and it was a Royal Shakespeare Company production, featuring people I know. The play started to music, which was a lovely touch as there were elements within the music that added to the comedic nature of the play. Straight away as each actor appeared, they made their characteristics known to the audience, adding comedy and life from the very start.

img_1634

Looking at the amateur members alongside the professionals, you really couldn’t compare them! They fit in so well with the professionals. Pete C0llett stood out as Bottom, making me giggle from the first moment he entered the stage. Then there was Colin Groom as Snug. He just knows how to make an audience laugh! I have been in several productions with both Pete and Colin and they never fail to make me laugh so it was lovely to see them having so much fun being part of this particular production.

Charlie Springthorpe as Snout provided entertainment as ‘Wall’ in The Tragedy of Pyramus and Thisbe, creating a great slapstick moment with Pete and Nick Vale, who played Flute. Not forgetting Dorothy Nelson as Quince who provided the players with their parts and Esther O’Bearagh as Starvelling, who played a great moon . Their performance of their play had me in stitches, especially the dramatic death of Pyramus, followed by Thisbe.

I also have to mention the professionals. Lucy Ellinson created a great adaptation of the loveable Puck with the great paring of Chu Omambala as Oberon and Ayesha Dharker. The lovers, Helena, Demetrius, Lysander and Hermia also provided their fair share of comedic moments creating a great adaptation of the play.

This production is one I will remember for the rest of my life. I enjoyed every moment and I’m so glad I saw this production!

img_1638

Thanks for reading!

Share and comment if you like this post!

Leave a Reply

