Rehearsal Diary – FOUR WEEKS TO GO!

Rehearsal Diary – FOUR WEEKS TO GO!

I have decided to look back and keep the memory of the last few weeks of the South Pacific rehearsals since on this day in four weeks, we will be on our final day of our run at The Minack Theatre – I can’t believe I just typed that!!

This means for the next few weeks, I will be posting an update/how the rehearsal went etc, every Friday. I will also be updating the entire week of being at The Minack because it is my favourite week of being involved in amateur theatre and I want to share it with you!

This week I had two rehearsals for the show.

Monday 2nd May:

Polishing! We went through several of the dance routines that have been set to make sure we all know what we’re doing and to make it look how our choreographer wants it to look. We had all successfully remembered what we were doing – thanks to video recordings of the rehearsals so we could look back at what we had done at home – which meant that it wasn’t a long rehearsal. Early night for all!

The girls of the show also got to work on one of the most famous songs from South Pacific, I’m Gonna Wash That Man Right Outa My Hair. I absolutely love this number and have a blast with the other members of the cast so it was a productive but also fun rehearsal, whilst finishing setting of this number.

I came out of this rehearsal feeling more confident about what I’m doing so I was happy!

 

Wednesday 4th May:

This rehearsal included people only relevant to one part of the show. This was a more challenging rehearsal as I had to sing in French – I am terrible at other languages and I hate myself for that. However, put the French singing to one side, it was also another productive rehearsal and again, an early night for all!

This was an interesting rehearsal as I got to learn something new and by the end, I think I cracked the French singing. Now to spend time at home learning the words so I’m not afraid of not having the words in front of me.

This part of the show is really interesting, so if you want to find out more, I suggest you book tickets to come and watch cause I’m not giving anything away! 😉

I can’t wait to get to this gorgeous venue!

minack - annie - show week.jpg

I am having a lot of fun rehearsing for South Pacific. It is challenging due to not being in the show the first time around, but it’s a blast!

I will be back next week with another update!

Please comment and share if you enjoyed this post!

 

The theatre website: https://www.minack.com/

 

 

One thought on “Rehearsal Diary – FOUR WEEKS TO GO!

Leave a Reply

